How :poor: were you?

Off-topic? You mean on-topic!
max225
Chief Master Sirloin of the Wasteful Steak
Drives: Taco+ Bavarian lemon

:lol: This should be interesting... Share your :eeyore: :scrooge: stories.

My family and myself moved here to the states when I was a teenager (1999), with almost no money (sub $5K). I haven't worn "new" clothes until I was 20 years old. Didn't have furniture to do my homework on in the first 6 months here... couldn't afford anything until my junkyard/disposed desk, which I still have :lol:

My dad and mom both lost their jobs in 2001 (.com bubble), right when I was about to start college. Didn't have any money, but thankfully was granted Loans, when I graduated, I was -20k at 20 :lol: Not only did I not have money I was also in debt. I was working 20+ hrs a week since I was 17... Which means I have now been working longer than not working :disgust:

And here we are today, living in Utopia, driving a used mini cooper :lol:
That's my :eeyore: for the day.
Johnny_P
Drives: Blue short bus

I was never actually poor because my fam always had my back.

Dad and mom were on WIC checks when I was born though. I nearly bankrupted my family with all the surgeries I needed.

Poorest I ever was... I was going out to my first internship in Connecticut. Had to buy a car, get my own car insurance, appropriate job clothes, an apartment, etc. I had it all figured out, depleted my savings account to buy a Ford Focus, outlet mall for polo shirts, and then SHTF. Apartments in CT were expensive as fuck. Eventually found one for $900/mo and took it. I couldn't afford security deposit, dad had to front me the cash.

I had about $150 in the bank when I left home. Got up there and bought some food which I didn't know how to cook. First day of the job I get to meet with HR and they inform me it'll be 4 weeks (2 cycles) before my first paycheck :shockedpikachu:

I lived for 4 weeks on about $80 in the bank. Literally ramen and peanut butter sandwiches.