Thought you guys might like seeing my latest work project

Off-topic? You mean on-topic!
Acid666
Senior Chief Patty Officer
Drives: 02 Z06/95 Meowta/05 SilveraDOE

I'm a Senior Designer for an engineering firm. This project/customer has consumed me for the last 1.5 years. It'll never end but at least now we've finally got a full packaged assembly completed and released (until the shop in Houston finishes quoting it out and has me make some revisions). But it's there.

This is the CRT 2.5L 2 stroke boat racing motor. There are basically 2 versions. The SR and CR. SR is the "Stock Race" version and CR is the "Custom Race". The CR version runs like a bat out of hell and pushes 400 horsepower. This guy came to us with a Mercury block and said he wanted to make his own out of billet with his own tweaks. I basically took this block, got it into 3d and we started to chop it up. And add, and cut, and add. It was never ending but we ended up with a pretty solid piece of engineering. Originally he aimed it at the weekend racers, but after a couple of trips to Dubai and other major F1 and Xcat races he's decided to go full out towards the professional race teams at the top of the food chain. Mercury is actually discontinuing this 2.5L so he's picking up where they left off. Also, keep in mind for those big ass world class races they pair 2 of these motors to the back of the boats.

EVERY single piece of this assembly was designed by scratch and put into Solidworks by moi (it's what I does brah) along with all of the prints to manufacture it. We're talking gaskets, heads, head caps, cylinder sleeves (custom patent), the block, the crank, the pistons (I'm currently going back and forth with Wiseco on these pistons).... Every single piece was started as a "Well we'll just use the Mercury version", and then ended up us making our own part for it.